Police say Yan Shara behind violence in Kaduna this Ramadan

– The Kaduna police revealed the name of the group
behind violence and attacks during the holy month of
Ramadan
– Governor El-Rufai visited one of the victims,
Emmanuel Francis, promised to maintain peace and
harmony in the state
– The group targets Muslims as well: A resident of
Unguwan Dosa, Bello Sani, narrates how he escaped
lynching
Security if beefed up in Kaduna state following a number of
attacks on peaceful citizens, police confirmed to
PremiumTimes on Saturday, June 11.
The officials believe a new deadly group called “Yan Shara”
is responsible. The name of the group can be translated as
“Sweepers” from Hausa language.
The members of Yan Shara, mostly young adults, reportedly
operate in Kakuri, Kawo, Rigasa, Tudun Wada, Unguwan
Rimi, Unguwan Dosa and several other major towns and
areas of Kaduna.
READ ALSO: Shocking: Apostle Suleman speaks on
President Buhari’s health
The police assured that they had all the details about the
reported crimes, promised to deal with the ‘hoodlums’.
Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna state spoke in a similar
manner of condemnation as he visited Emmanuel Francis,
a Christian who was stabbed for eating in the afternoon of
Tuesday, June 7.
“We implore everyone to do their duty to uphold peace and
security in Kaduna State. We should not allow differences in
faith to be a barrier to harmony or a cause for conflict.
Nobody can impose the tenet of his faith on another
person.
“The decision to observe any religious activity is the
prerogative of the individual. Let us all remain vigilant and
report any suspicious activity to the security agencies,” the
governor said.
READ ALSO: GEJ shouldn’t have been president; it was a
bribe to the Niger Delta – Sheikh Gumi
The Yan Shara group does not spare Muslims as well. Bello
Sani, a resident of Unguwan Dosa, was attacked on his way
from the mosque. The man narrowly escaped being
lynched last week when he was returning from daily prayer.
Mr Bello told his horrific story to PremiumTimes.
“I was going home from the mosque in Unguwan Dosa
when I saw people running and coming my way.
“At first I thought it was a riot. Then one lady who was
running overtook me and was shouting run! run! run! the
sweepers are coming. I did not understand what she meant
by sweepers until I saw some shops close to me closing
down and also telling me to run.
“However, before I could run fast, one among them hit me
with a big stick on my back. I was able to jump in to a
house close to me forcing them to retreat.”
The month of Ramadan began in Nigeria on Monday, June
6. It is expected to end on July 5. Adult Muslims are
required to fast from dawn till dusk.

