Terminate their lives, Fayose declares war on Fulani herdsmen

– “Terminate their lives! If they claim they want to
sleep with your wives, they want to touch your
children, bring them down”, governor Fayose told
residents of a community in Ekiti invaded by fulani
herdsmen
– Fayose said he would present a bill to the Ekiti house
of assembly to criminalize grazing in wrong area.

Governor Ayodele Fayose, while addressing local hunters at
Oke-Ako Ekiti yesterday, May 23
Following the killing of two persons in Ekiti by Fulani
herdsmen, the Ekiti state governor has declared war on
herdsmen in the state.
Speaking yesterday, May 23 when he paid a courtesy visit to
the families of dead, Fayose who promise to raise N2,5
million for the families of the dead also said he would raise
N2.5 million for local hunters to defend the communities
against the herdsmen.
“Before leaving you today, I will raise for you (hunters)
#2.5m, Secondly, I will raise #2.5m again for the affected
families,” Fayose said.
Speaking further, he added: “I want to say it very clearly,
everything you want me to do, I will do. Because the
moment you are not secured then I had better resigned as
a governor.
READ ALSO: Grazing reserves bill will tear Nigeria apart,
cause civil war – Anglican Church
“If I cannot provide adequate security for you, it is better
for me to leave this office. The only reason you voted for
me is because you know I am competent to do the needful
in circumstances like this. Nobody will take Ekiti away from
us.
“This killing of our people must stop. It is deliberate and we
must take all actions to stop it.
“They have killed two, they have killed all of us, a fight
against one Ekiti man is a fight against everybody, the
President must rise up to the challenge and stand this
decaying security situation in the face, we cannot continue
like this.

Governor Ayodele Fayose, while addressing local hunters at
Oke-Ako Ekiti yesterday, May 23
“When they defeat you they will go to the next community,
when they defeat that community they will go to another
one, this is Ekiti Parapo war and it must be fought in the
totality of
our spirit. I stand by you, I stand for you and
that is why you elected me at a time like this. I will not
disappoint you.
“Like I said earlier, you want a Pick Up Van, today, today, I
will give you a Pick Up.
“Let it be said, those people behind this herdsmen, we’ll
defeat you, we will defeat you. Enough of this political
herdsmen operating as herdsmen but are Boko Haram,
they are coming into South West gradually, we are going to
fight you.
READ ALSO: How Fulani herdsmen, farmers’ clash may
make Nigeria poor
“Anywhere you find a cow that is grazing unnecessarily on
our ways, call my attention, we will take them out. I am
going to the house of assembly to criminalize grazing in
wrong areas. You hide under grazing to kill people, you are
operating in the night, where would you tell me someone
grazing found AK47?
“Some people are behind them, using AK 47, you rape my
wife, you rape my children, if they attempt it, bring them
down! Terminate their lives! If they claim they want to sleep
with your wives, they want to touch your children, bring
them down! Bring them down!
“It is a war against Ekiti, it must be fought with the totality of
our strength. God bless you, I want to reassure you, we’ll
provide the necessary security to keep you in your
community. Don’t run away, don’t go to another
community, it is your home and nobody will have drive you
out of your home!”
Fayose had earlier said he cannot guarantee the level that
the reprisal attacks can get to because as a governor adding
that it is his responsibility to defend and protect the people.
Fayose described activities of the Fulani Herdsmen as
inimical to the revival of agriculture in the country.

